Review System is a feature that allows teams to have more granular control over the content of their docs by having a new user role, the Reviewer, who is responsible for verifying and approving any changes made to the docs, content of docs, or space settings.
The Review System can be enabled at Space level. All newly created Spaces have Review System OFF by default. An Administrator can enable the Review System for each space manually. This way, you can have better control over the content of your public portals while leaving the internal team Spaces out of the Review System for faster edits.
What happens when a Draft is created for a doc:
- A Draft version of the document will be created and can be edited by users
- The Original version is kept, and you can switch between the Orginal and Draft versions
- If you publish your Space, only the Original version will be published.
- A Draft document can be reviewed and merged by a Reviewer
- A Draft can be reviewed and discarded by a Reviewer; after this, the Draft is deleted
Go to Space Settings / Team Access Control and toggle the Review System ON or OFF
Select the users or group of users who will have permission to Review by checking the Review box in the user list
Once the Review System is enabled, the editing flow of a document will change. You will now have to create a draft for each doc you want to modify. A document can only have one draft active and will be available for everyone to see and edit.
Go to any document and enter Draft mode by clicking the Edit Draft button from the doc options bar
A draft is created, and now you can start editing the doc. You can see above the doc title that you have 2 versions of the current doc: Original and Draft.
Every time you navigate to a doc, you will see the Orginal version. If you want to edit, manually switch to the Draft version
While editing a draft, click the Review button on the right side of the doc options bar to:
- View Diff
- Request Review
- Review & Merge
View Diff - this option will open a new window where you can see all the changes made to the draft compared to the original.
Request Review - this option will send a notification to the users with Review permissions on this Space. Use this when you completed your work and you need validation from a Reviewer.
If you are a Reviewer and receive this notification, just click on it and it will take you to the mentioned doc.
Review & Merge - this option is only available to users with Review permissions.
If you are a Reviewer and want to Review & Merge or Discard a Draft, click on this option, and a new window will open with a Diff view of the changes and 2 buttons: Discard Draft and Merge Draft.
Clicking on Discard will delete the Draft and return to Original version
Clicking on Merge the Draft will replace the Original version.
While Review System is enabled for a Space, a new step is added before you publish.
The Publish button is now replaced with Review & Publish.
Review & Publish is a new window that will allow you to review all changes made since the last publish of the Space.
Here's how it works:
Documents - here, you will see a list of newly added docs and removed docs
This menu is purely informative, and you can not make any actions here about the documents.
Drafts - this menu shows all docs that have a Draft active.
If you have Review permissions, you can Merge the drafts directly from this menu and then publish the Space.
Space Settings - analyse changes made to Space Settings
Navigate to your published content